Byrd Graduate Educator Award
The Louise Byrd Graduate Educator Award was established to honor the memory of Louise Byrd, long-time Secretary of the Graduate School and of the Graduate Council.  Louise Byrd was noted for her deep concern for the welfare of graduate students.  Each year, in her memory, a faculty member who demonstrates concern for graduate students as scholars and individuals is presented this award. This award includes a cash prize and the winner’s name is presented at the annual Doctoral Hooding Ceremony.
Nomination Process:

All regular members of the Graduate Faculty are eligible to receive this recognition. Graduate students, past or present, and graduate faculty members are invited to nominate a member of the graduate faculty.  The nomination should address these issues:

  • The nominee’s extraordinary devotion to graduate students and their education.
  • The nominee should be a distinguished, active scholar in his or her field.
  • The nominee should exhibit a proven record of continuing interest in the growth and success of graduate students, expressed through quality lectures, availability, psychological support, graduate research advising, and contact outside the classroom.
  • A description of the nominee’s impact on his or her students’ accomplishments as scholars and in the quality of professional appointments in their field.
  • Clear evidence should be presented that the nominee’s concern for graduate students goes significantly beyond that of the average, but dedicated, member of the Graduate Faculty. Supporting letters from colleagues and current or former students and an updated curriculum vita greatly strengthen the nomination.

To nominate a professor for the graduate educator award, please utilize this nomination form to provide a letter of nomination, a copy of nominee’s curriculum vita and letters of support from graduate students, faculty, alumni and others. Submit the nomination no later than 5:00 p.m. Monday, February 26, 2018.

Byrd Graduate Educator Awardees

2017  Mabel Rice

Child Language

2016  Yo Jackson

Clinical Child Psychology

2015 Sara Gregg History
2015 Paul Kelton History
2014 Eva M. Horn Special Education
2014 Victor S. Frost Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
2013 Ann Schofield

American Studies &

Women, Gender, and Sexuality Studies

2012 Steven M. Barlow


2011 Jennifer Laurence

Pharmaceutical Chemistry

2010 Carl Luchies Mechanical Engineering
2009 Paulyn Cartwright Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
2008 Costas Tsatsoulis Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
2007 Byron Caminero-Santangelo English
2006 David Katzman American Studies


RT @SGD _KU: A new semester is upon us! We would love for all of you to come to the SGD Open House. Come and hang out with new and old frien…

Dean's Message

KU Safety

KU Safety

The first studio art class at KU began in 1869
One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
23rd nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets," Military Times
KU Today