• Home
  • Doctoral Hooding Ceremony applauds groundbreaking researchers

Doctoral Hooding Ceremony applauds groundbreaking researchers

Tuesday, May 21, 2019

LAWRENCE — More than 230 graduate students at the University of Kansas were awarded doctorates at the annual Doctoral Hooding Ceremony on May 18 in the Lied Center. University marshals presided over the ceremony, joined by Interim Dean Audrey Lamb, Interim Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor Carl Lejuez, school deans at the Lawrence and Medical Center campuses, and Dave Murfin from the Kansas Board of Regents.

“A doctoral degree is the highest academic achievement, and the hooding ceremony is a celebration of the dedication and innovation of doctoral scholars,” said Audrey Lamb, interim dean of graduate studies. “Completing a doctoral dissertation requires making substantive and original contributions to their field of research. The world progresses forward thanks to the effort of these cutting-edge researchers.”

Two doctoral graduates received the 2019 Marnie and Bill Argersinger prize for outstanding doctoral dissertations. Austin Charron, doctoral graduate in geography, was recognized for his pioneering study on the Crimeans who migrated to Ukraine following Russia’s 2014 annexation of Crimea, changing the way diaspora is conceived. Tyler Hageman, doctoral candidate in chemistry, was celebrated for his innovative research in the analysis of differentiating proteins, which furthers the progress of modern pharmaceuticals.

Other graduate student, staff and faculty awards were presented by the Office of Graduate Studies at the annual Graduate Awards Ceremony on April 24. These included the Three Minute Thesis Competition awards, Graduate Teaching Assistant awards, the Distinguished Service Award and the Truman Good Neighbor awards. Graduate students with KU fellowships were also honored at the event. A list of awardees is available from the Office of Graduate Studies.

On April 24, the 2019 Louise Byrd Graduate Educator Award was presented to Gregory Rudnick, director of graduate studies and professor of physics & astronomy. The 2019 Outstanding Graduate Support Staff Award was presented to Martha Kehr, graduate program assistant for the Department of Chemical & Petroleum Engineering.

Donate to the Graduate Student Emergency Fund
COVID-19 Updates and Information

Find additional resources regarding online teaching & learning during the COVID-19 outbreak at REMOTE.KU.EDU.

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion