Byrd Graduate Educator Award

The Office of Graduate Studies is accepting nominations for the Louise Byrd Graduate Educator Award.  The Louise Byrd Graduate Educator Award was established to honor the memory of Louise Byrd, long-time Secretary of the Graduate School and of the Graduate Council.  Louise Byrd was noted for her deep concern for the welfare of graduate students.  Each year, in her memory, a faculty member who demonstrates the qualities of concern for graduate students as scholars and individuals is presented this award. This award includes a cash prize and is highlighted on the Graduate Studies website.

The Nomination Deadline is April 18, 2021 (by midnight). 

Nomination Process: All regular members of the Graduate Faculty are eligible to receive this recognition. Graduate students, past or present, and graduate faculty members are invited to nominate a member of the graduate faculty. 

The nomination should address these issues:

  • The nominee’s extraordinary devotion to graduate students and their education.
  • The nominee should be a distinguished, active scholar in their field.
  • The nominee should exhibit a proven record of continuing interest in the growth and success of graduate students, expressed through quality lectures, availability, psychological support, graduate research advising, and contact outside the classroom.
  • A description of the nominee’s impact on their students’ accomplishments as scholars and in the quality of professional appointments in their field.
  • Clear evidence should be presented that the nominee’s concern for graduate students goes significantly beyond that of the average, but dedicated, members of the Graduate Faculty. Supporting letters from colleagues and current or former students and an updated curriculum vita greatly strengthen the nomination.

To nominate a professor for the graduate educator award, please complete the online form.

 Louise Byrd Graduate Educator Awardees

2019 Gregory Rudnick Physics and Astronomy
2018 Monica Biernat Psychology
2017 Mabel Rice Child Language
2016 Yo Jackson Clinical Child Psychology
2015 Paul Kelton History
2015 Sara Gregg History
2014 Eva M. Horn Special Education
2014 Victor S. Frost Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
2013 Ann Schofield Women, Gender, and Sexuality Studies
2012 Steven Barlow Speech-Language-Hearing
2011 Jennifer Laurence Pharmaceutical Chemistry
2010 Carl Luchies Bioengineering
2009 Paulyn Cartwright Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
2008 Costas Tsatsoulis Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
2007 Byron Caminero-Santangelo English
2006 David Katzman American Studies
2005 Norman Slade Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
2004 Norman Yetman American Studies & Sociology
2003 Vicky Unruh Spanish and Portuguese
2002 Sivaprasad Gogineni Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
2001 Jack Porter Mathematics
2000 Robert C. Rowland Communication Studies
1999 Ann Turnbull Special Education
1998 Donald Stull Anthropology
1997 Ronald Borchardt Pharmaceutical Chemistry
1996 Daryle Busch Chemistry
1995 Joane Nagel Sociology
1994 Siegfried Lindenbaum Pharmaceutical Chemistry
1994 Donald Deshler Special Education
1993 Mohamed El-Hodiri Economics
1992 C. R. Snyder Psychology
1991 Mary Ross Moran Special Education
1990 James Sherman Human Development and Family Life
1989 B. K. Houston Psychology
1988 Douglas Glasnapp Educational Psychology and Research
1987 Jack Brehm Psychology
1986 John Brushwood Spanish and Portuguese
1985 Akira Yamamoto Anthropology
1984 Richard Moore Electrical and Computer Engineering


Donate to the Graduate Student Emergency Fund
COVID-19 Updates and Information

Find additional resources regarding online teaching & learning during the COVID-19 outbreak at REMOTE.KU.EDU.

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion