Electronic Thesis and Dissertation

Where to Start

Some degree programs will have their own requirements and timelines for the ETD submission process. Make sure you check with your department for this information.

The school administrators listed below review each student's academic record, including the electronic thesis or dissertation, to verify completion of all degree and unviersity requirements for graduation. Please contact them if you have questions about your graduation checklist and submission requirements.

Architecture Barb Seba | bseba@ku.edu
Business Charly Edmonds | cedmonds@ku.edu
College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Morgan Swartzlander | coga@ku.edu
Education Kim Huggett | khuggett@ku.edu
Engineering Anna Paradis | aparadis@ku.edu
Journalism and Mass Communications Jammie Johnson | jamjohn@ku.edu
Law W. Blake Wilson |wilsonwb@ku.edu
KU Medical Center - Ph.D. Marcia Jones | mjones@kumc.edu
KU Medical Center - D.N.P. Cassandra Tribitt | SONAcademicAffairs@kumc.edu
Music Jane Gnojek | jgnojek@ku.edu
Pharmacy Patti Steffan |psteffan@ku.edu
Social Welfare Becky Hofer | bhofer@ku.edu
Urban Planning Barb Seba | bseba@ku.edu

Fall 2016 ETD Submission Workshop

Thursday 27 October 2016
455 Watson Library

You can find the slides for this workshop here.

We also recorded this workshop: the video will be posted at the link above as soon as it is available.

Fall 2015 ETD Workshop

You can view the video from the Fall 2015 ETD Workshop here.


Previously Published KU Research

We encourage you to explore theses and dissertations previously published by students from your department and related fields. This can be a great way to learn more about how students are handling field-specific requirements or challenges, like large numbers of images or large data sets. Please be aware, however, that KU Graduate Studies' formatting requirements have changed over time, so older thesis or dissertation formatting may not conform to KU's current requirements. Current formatting requirements are posted here: http://graduate.ku.edu/etd-formatting-and-working-multimedia-files

KU ScholarWorks

KU ScholarWorks is a digital repository for student theses and dissertations as well as scholarly work created by the faculty and staff of the University of Kansas. KU ScholarWorks makes important research available to a wider audience and helps assure its long-term preservation. For more information about KU ScholarWorks, contact them.

ProQuest

Abstracts and citation information for all theses and dissertations previously submitted to KU are available through ProQuest. In many cases, the full text of the thesis or dissertation may also be available. This database is the same for both KUMC and the Lawrence campuses, however, due to differences in licensing, it is accessed through different links. To increase the impact of research produced at KU, a dissertation or thesis may be available in both KU ScholarWorks and ProQuest.


Still have Questions?

Remember to check with your department or school for questions about bibliographic style, including styles for citations, illustrations, tables, charts, etc.

Problems using software? Contact Instructional Services, 785-864-0410

Looking for an open computer lab? Look up the computer labs or ask KU Info 785-864-3506

Questions about submitting and revising your document? Visit UMI FAQ's

Remaining unanswered questions? Contact Graduate Studies by phone, (785) 864-8040, or via email at graduate@ku.edu



The first studio art class at KU began in 1869
One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
Nearly $290 million in financial aid annually
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
—ALA
23rd nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets," Military Times
KU Today