Funding Resources

The Office of Graduate Studies provides links to funding sources within KU, external funding sources, and resources that are helpful in looking for and applying for funding.

Recent KU Graduate Student Funding Success

11 KU doctoral students named as 2017 Self Graduate Fellows.

National Science Foundation provides $700,000 to support students' entomology field research in Suriname.

American Association of University Women supports KU graduate students and postdoctoral students developing leadership workshops for women in STEM disciplines.

Lindsay Huffhines (Ph.D. Clinical Child Psychology) received a research grant from the Society of Pediatric Psychology.

Mabel Alvarado Gutiérrez (Ph.D. Ecology & Evolutionary Biology), Katelynn Giraldo (M.A. Latin American & Caribbean studies), George Klaeren (Ph.D. History), and Silvia Sanchez Díaz (Ph.D. anthropology) received Tinker Field Research Grants.

U.S. Department of Energy grant will support graduate students in Atmospheric Science.

David B. Jones Foundation grant will support graduate students in Ecology & Evolutionary Biology conducting paleontological research.

Twelve doctoral students named as 2016 Chancellor's Doctoral Fellows.

Sabrina Shafique (Ph.D. Architecture) received an International Fellowship from the American Association of University Women (AAUW).

Corinne Schwarz (Ph.D. Women, Gender, and Sexuality Studies) awarded $30,000 research grant from the National Science Foundation.

Kathy Denning (Ph.D. Ecology & Evolutionary Biology) received a Doctoral Dissertation Research Improvement grant from the National Science Foundation.

Sarah Morton, Sarah Child, and Joey Fontana won awards from the Kansas Geological Survey.

Krista Irick (M.A. East Asian Languages & Literature) studied in Azerbaijan on a Department of State Critical Language Scholarship.

Sammy Badran (Ph.D. Political Science) and Brian Turnbull (Ph.D. Political Science) conducted research in Morocco and India thanks to Fulbright awards.

KU Center for Latin American and Caribbean Studies provided Tinker grants to 12 graduate students from Spanish and Portuguese, Ecology & Evolutionary Biology, Psychology and Music.

George Klaeren (Ph.D. History) and Chelsea Murdock (Ph.D. English) announced as Sias Graduate Fellows by the Hall Center for the Humanities.


Graduate Certificate Fair is today, 10 - 2 at the Kansas Union 4th Floor! Come learn about graduate certificate degrees available at KU.

KU Safety

The first studio art class at KU began in 1869
One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
23rd nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets," Military Times
KU Today